back to top
My wish lists
Save your wish list
If you want to add more content to your wish list, simply log in. If you do not have a user account, please register for the Hanser Customer Center.

» Do you already have a user account? Please log in here.
» Don't have a user account yet? Please register here.
Your wish lists
If you want to use your wish list during your next visit, simply log in. If you do not have a user account, please register for the Hanser Customer Center.
» Do you already have a user account? Please log in here.
» Don't have a user account yet? Please register here.

« Back

Your advantages at a glance

  • One login for all Hanser portals
  • Individual home page for faster access to preferred content
  • Exclusive access to selected content
  • Personal wish lists on all portals
  • Central management of your personal information and newsletter subscriptions

Register now
Bookmark Bookmarked

Awards for Plastics and Medical Technology

Arburg Presents the Winners 2019

Since 2016, Arburg, Lossburg, Germany, has been honoring outstanding dissertations and master's theses at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) as part of a close cooperation. In 2019, the Arburg Awards were presented to Dr.-Ing. Hannes Löwe and Maria Gabriele Bauer.

As part of the “Day of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering” at the TUM on 12 July 2019, Dr.-Ing. E. h. Herbert Kraibühler, former Arburg Technology Director and Honorary Doctor of the TUM, and Arburg Training Manager Michael Vieth presented the cash prizes and certificates to the two graduates.

  • Hannes Löwe (center) won the Arburg Award 2019 with his dissertation, which Dr.-Ing. E. h. Herbert Kraibühler presented on behalf of Arburg together with award coordinator Prof. Birgit Vogel-Heuser (© TUM)

  • Maria Gabriele Bauer (center) received the Arburg Award 2019 for her master's thesis from award coordinator Prof. Birgit Vogel-Heuser and Arburg Training Manager Michael Vieth (© TUM)

1 | 0

The aim of the Arburg Award is to advance research in plastics and medical technology. Two scientific papers are honored each year with this award.

Best Dissertation: Dr.-Ing. Hannes Löwe

In his doctoral thesis, Hannes Löwe dealt with the increasing environmental pollution caused by plastic waste. Summarizing the research, the thesis stipulates that the problem also offers an opportunity for innovative, bio-based and biodegradable plastics. The doctoral thesis describes the use of the “Pseudomonas putida” bacterium for the production of “polyhydroxyalkanoate” bioplastic. Production was carbon neutral, as sugar from the "Synechococcus elongatus" cyanobacterium was used as a raw material. In a mixed culture of CO2 , sunlight and mineral salt solution, valuable bioplastic was produced.

The dissertation focused on the genetic adaptation of the bacterium for mixed culture and on establishing the required technical process. The research showed that genetic modification leads to an artificial dependency between the bacteria, leading to the production of significant amounts of bioplastic. The results offer hope for a more sustainable production of plastics and other recyclable materials from CO2 and renewable substrates.

Best Master's Thesis: Maria Gabriele Bauer

In her master's thesis, Maria Gabriele Bauer dealt with the prevention of hospital pathogens, as around 45% of hospital infections can be traced back to medical equipment contaminated with biofilm. Disposable products used on a daily basis, such as catheters and tubes, represent the second most common cause of such infections.

The aim of this thesis was to test a covalently bonded mucin coating on various medical plastics and to investigate its possible application as an anti-biofouling coating. This would prevent such hospital-induced infections and reduce the average length of stay of patients and their treatment costs.

Award as an Important Part of Long-Standing Cooperation

The successful cooperation between Arburg and the Technical University of Munich has existed in many fields and for many years. Since 2016, it has also included the annual presentation of the Arburg Awards to graduates for outstanding scientific papers. The candidates were nominated by the professors of the departments of plastics technology, medical technology and related scientific fields.

A panel made up of four TUM professors of mechanical engineering examined the nominations and finally selected this year's Arburg Award winners Dr.-Ing. Hannes Löwe and Maria Gabriele Bauer. At the presentation of the cash prizes and certificates, Dr.-Ing. E. h. Herbert Kraibühler and Michael Vieth congratulated the winners, praised their commitment and emphasized the importance of their research for the plastics and medical technology sectors.

Additional information
  • 06-27-2019

    Ground Breaking Ceremony in Rocky Hill

    Arburg Expands USA Headquarters

    The expansion will provide an additional 23,000 square feet of space, adding over 80% to the size of the existing building.   more

  • 06-06-2019

    Arburg Wins People’s Choice Award

    Rapid + TCT 2019: Great Success for German Machine Manufacturer

    On the last day of the Rapid + TCT, the leading trade fair for additive manufacturing in the USA, the German machine manufacturer Arburg was honoured with the People’s Choice Award.   more

Company profile


DE 72290 Loßburg
Tel.: 07446 33-0
Fax: 07446 33-3365
E-mail: contact <AT>


Would you like to subscribe to our Newsletters on plastics technology and profit from the latest information?

Subscribe here

Subscribe here

Job Advertisements

Looking for a new challenge? Check out our jobs market!

Job Advertisements

Patents Stimulate Innovation

Patents encourage innovation: Stay on the ball with the latest innovations in the plastics industry in our patents section.